Hi!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7 (apparently!!)
Country
United Kingdom
My pond is a long cherished retirement project under construction ( by my husband bless him) which we are hoping to complete over the course of the summer. My husband is an experienced plantsman ( though not of aquatic gardens!) but I'm a complete beginner ..... though I'm getting pretty obsessive in my research. I've always been drawn to ponds, something about the combination of moving water, beautiful plants and fish!

The pond is rectangular, very formal in design, 3.6 metres by 2.1 metres, raised by 50cm ( so you can sit on the edge) with an overall depth planned of about 80 cm. It has a blockwork inner with a planned stone external wall with reclaimed brick corners topped by flagstones. At the far end will be a stone wall with a second arched wall on top of that with a lion head fountain running into a trough then falling into the pond.

Challenges will be:

1. Climate. We live in Aberdeen so ( global warming notwithstanding) the cooler weather will be a challenge. I'm hoping to avert some problems by keeping tenderer plants in a tank in the greenhouse over winter and mainly growing later flowering plants ( except for marsh marigolds) as the seasons are late arriving, and also foliage plants. Ferns if I get desperate!!

2. Position. The pond is close to the house so it's visible from the conservatory. The garden is north facing though the sun does get above the apex of the roof (long daylight hours and high sun being a feature of Scottish summers!!) and reaches the pond that way both directly and through the conservatory glass. It's not ideal though and I'm not sure I'll get enough sun for water lilies, but I'll have a go. If not I think I'll be happy with water hawthorn which has been doing it's best to grow and flower even through an Aberdeen winter so I think it deserves its place.