Tiers, and the circumference of the deepest part?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I am a total novice and so please excuse so many questions.

I have begun digging a wildlife pond (so no fish). It will be about 2.20 m long and 1.60 m wide.

I understand that I need a wide shallow shelf around the circumference. How deep would you recommend this be?

I have seen on many sites that there should be another level after this one, but that would then leave such a small area for the deepest part.

So, given the size of the pond, should I make a second shelf?

And how large (circumference) should the deepest part be? You will see from the rainwater in the muddy puddle(!) how big that area would be in relation to the rest with a very narrow second shelf (shelves now very indistinct after the rain). The deep, rainwater part is only 50cm x60cm here and not even 40cm deep.
Please bear in mind that the muddy top ledge, edged by plants, is not part of the pond. [I am trying to make the pond level (on a slight slope) which is why I have cut slightly lower than the plants on that side.]

So, with deep part of only around 50 cm x 60 cms, a second shelf would have to be much narrower than the first. Is it worth it?

I am going to attach a photo of the rough initial dig of the pond. It is rather embarrassing as its appearance is even worse than yesterday with the overnight rain! It was with a mixture of amusement and dismay that I saw it this morning!

Thank you!

IMG_9785.jpg

JRS

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum. Shelves are good for holding marginal plant pots that need shallower water or entering a deep pond for maintenance. Depending on your final goals and size of your pond they may not be necessary.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Thank you for your welcome and reply! It is to be a wildlife pond (no fish) of the size 2.30m x 1.60m.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone