Bogging in New Jersey

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I'm a newbie to ponding and bogging, but have been reading a lot here and on Koiphen, so feel that I have at least some handle on what to do. However, I'm interested in whatever comments people want to make about what I'm attempting here. I've learned a lot from reading Addy1's posts, and the comments of others. Now I'm digging! And the no-winter Winter has so far been fantastic for making progress, though perhaps not so great for some plants and for the climate in general. We are having days of 60 and 70 degrees in December 2015, which is the warmest that we have had in the nearly-40 years that we have lived in this town and this house.

I'm building on a slightly-sloped portion of our backyard: it drops about 5 feet in 80 feet. The bog will be at the top of that slope, and the pond at the bottom. A pump-pit will be adjacent to the pond, and send the water back to the bog. Both bog and pond will be concrete foundation, plus two rows of concrete block, and an EPDM liner. The bog will have below-gravel piping to distribute the water in an upflow manner. The pond has a bottom drain and two tangential pond returns to keep the water moving along towards the bottom drain (it's what some call a river-flow design), and the stream from the bog enters the pond at the end opposite the bottom drain.

There is also space allocated for a rain garden, which will be where the excess water goes when we have any significant rainfall. The town here requires that ponds be less than 24” deep, or that we fence the area, which we aren’t about to do for appearance reasons. Therefore, any water coming into the pond has to have an exit, which will be via an overflow pipe to the rain garden. That will also take care of the excess water that comes into the pond as the stream is shut down.

Progress so far: