Hi from Ireland, need advice on which fish?

paulireland

Reaction score
First off hi all !! :surprised:

I'm new to ponds and fish keeping but i am addicted all ready :goldfish:
I have almost finished my pond and would love some advice on how many and what type of fish to get? I'll give you guys some info to work with.

My pond:

Bermuda Reef Pre-formed Pond = 9'2" long 4'7" wide 1'10" deep, 149 Gallons /1100 litres
Blagdon Mini Pond 2000 Pump
Blagdon Mini Pond 4500 UV Filter

I will soon be adding lilies and other plants.

I know my pond is is on the small side/ Shallow side. I love koi and was wondering can I keep any given how limited my pond is. I am hoping to build and far deeper/bigger pond in a few years but this will do for now. I am hoping to get sarasa comets and goldfish.

So any advice ? :razz: Thanks Paul O and great site guys!!!

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
smileywelcome687.gif
Glad you joined

With that size of pond, stick with a few goldfish, shubunkins etc.

Post some pictures so we can see your set up.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcome_cat.gif
Paul
I agree, stick w/ the Sarassa comets and Shubbies and other goldies. Wait till you actually build the bigger pond to get the koi.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I would not put any more than 5 in a pond that size. They will grow, some can reach 12 inches or so.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Welcome to the Forum!!!