Miracle Grow in lily container

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United States
Here is a question for the lily experts. I took a 100 gallon water trough and I am using it as a lily container. I am in the process of converting my lily pond into a bog filter so I need to start getting creative with my plants. What I would like to know is, has anyone tried mixing some miracle grow directly into their lily containers? Does it benefit the plants? At this time I don't have any fish in the container just plants. I want to experiment. What I've been encountering is my lilies get root bound when I put the fertilizer spikes in the dirt. What I hope is that the plants will get the fertilizer evenly from the water without the need for the fertilizer spikes. Thanks for the feedback, Rob

Reaction score
I'm far from a lily expert, or even novice, but I love experiments so hope you try it.

If you could apply the Miracle Grow directly to the leaves without getting it into the water the roots wouldn't have access to the nutrients. Miracle Grow in the water would be available to the roots. My assumption is plants will always produce as an extensive root system as possible. They wouldn't say "Wow, I have lots of food, no need to grow roots". More of a "where my next meal coming from". But I don't know for sure.

Would be a cool experiment. I'd also be interested in how algae reacts. And also maybe you end up with some kind of world record lilies.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
In my lotus pond, a 300 gallon rubbermaid, I used osmocote under the kitty litter for the plants. But also added miracle grow to the water (no fish) never had algae in that pond. I think the plants ate every bit of nutrient available and once they grew the leaves shaded the water pretty well.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United States