Water gone thick green

Reaction score
Country
Cyprus
I am quite new to pond keeping and over here in Cyprus theres no real outlets for professional supplies etc so its hard to source equipment.

We have a shaped pond outside with normal liner ringed by stones. It is serviced (last year and this) by 3 pumps each with a home mead filter going onto a larger bio type filter then by gravity back into the pond.

Previously the water has been absolutely crystal clear and the fish and lilies loved it.

However this year we inherited some more fish from another property where the water was black like soup and you couldn't see 2 inches under the surface.

Since introducing the fish my water has gone thick green, I am changing/cleaning the filters every second day because they get so clogged up with gunge.

I have used 2 loads of Algizin in the water (all my pet shop had) and theres no improvement, if anything even worse.

I live at 500meters altitude, winter it is outside only 4 degrees and summer can hit 50 centigrade, the water has never frozen.

What should me next move be to try to clear the water please. I am enclosing a couple of pictures.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• pond_kallepia1.jpg
    pond_kallepia1.jpg
    50.2 KB · Views: 264
  • pond_kallepia2.jpg
    pond_kallepia2.jpg
    66.5 KB · Views: 222
  • pond_kallepia3.jpg
    pond_kallepia3.jpg
    56 KB · Views: 251
  • pond_kallepia4.jpg
    pond_kallepia4.jpg
    49.4 KB · Views: 235
  • pond_kallepia5.jpg
    pond_kallepia5.jpg
    35.9 KB · Views: 242
  • pond_kallepia6.jpg
    pond_kallepia6.jpg
    28.5 KB · Views: 241
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Canada
Excess nutrients have exceeded your pond's filtration capacity.
The Algizin is for string algae which is not what you have.
Can you give us more details/pictures of your filters, water pump volume output and plants?
What is your pond's total water volume?
Have you been performing any water tests?

Reaction score
Country
Cyprus