Life after antibiotics

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi. I’d love some advice please. I have a small pond that had a perfect storm of events - some over eager gardeners cleaned out the sump without turning off the filter so it clogged full of muck from the bottom of the sump, I got super sick and didn’t get out to the pond to notice/clean it and my kids were over feeding the fish as we have one with no tail and they wanted to make sure he was fed.

This led to a massive overgrowth in algae and terrible chemistry and by the time I got well enough to come out a few of my fish have tail rot.

I’ve vacuumed the bottom, done a PP treatment and antibiotics (Melafix) and had to clean the filter through about ten times meaning the water in the pond is now new (added lots of stresscoat). Any good bacteria has been wiped out.

So how do I get it running well again and avoid new pond syndrome? I have nowhere else to put my fish.

Any advice is appreciated. I’m still learning about pond chemistry and how it all works.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
What are you water test results?

I don't see any reason your beneficial bacteria should have been killed off. Why do you feel that is the case?

Just so you know, Melafix is useless. It has been shown to be ineffective. No need to waste any more money on that.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
4welcome.gif
@Bridget
What were your terrible chem results?
@WaterGardener could the use of anti-bio-tic's kill off the good bacteria?

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States