Nitrates zero?

JohnHuff

I know nothing.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
1a
Country
Kyrgyzstan
I've been reading a lot of threads recently and in a couple of them, people have had problems with die offs, etc. and when listing their water parameters, they've listed nitrates as zero and no one has said anything.

Now, I've always read that nitrates should never be zero and in my own aquaria, even my tanks with heavy abundance of plants, nitrates are never zero, they're 20ppm at the least. So is it unusual to have a fish pond with zero nitrates?

slakker

AKA Mike
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
I don't see why nitrates can't be zero as per most test kits can register. As long as there's enough nitrifying bacteria or other nitrogen fixing plants/algae. Curious to here what others say as I'm new to ponds.

But even in marine systems where it's a constant battle and balance to rid nitrates/phosphates, it's possible to get to zero nitrates.

That's one thing I was wanting to ask, in reef aquariums, there are anaerobic bacteria that will take remove nitrates. Do those exist in ponds? If so, how are they cultivated? In reefs, we use live rock or some form of carbon dosing (vodka or solid carbon) to feed the the last bit of the nitrogen cycle.

JohnHuff

I know nothing.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
1a
Country
Kyrgyzstan
Nitrifying bacteria will create nitrates!
Anaerobic bacteria do exist at the gunk on the bottom of ponds and tanks. I don't remember why anymore but the rule is to always remove them. Maybe someone can explain here.
Mmathis, those are for cycled tanks.
slakker said:
I don't see why nitrates can't be zero as per most test kits can register. As long as there's enough nitrifying bacteria or other nitrogen fixing plants/algae. Curious to here what others say as I'm new to ponds.

But even in marine systems where it's a constant battle and balance to rid nitrates/phosphates, it's possible to get to zero nitrates.