Potassium permanganate advice/suggestions

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
I need to dose my pond with PP. I just received some that I ordered online and read the directions. Quite frankly, this chemical scares me, and I've never used it before. So I was wondering if anyone out there has used this to treat their pond and can offer any advice and/or suggestions. The directions did state to ensure that your pond is free of most organics, so I did a clean out and water change yesterday. However, now I have to wait at least 3 days to dose because I used dechlorinator and hydrogen peroxide when I cleaned the pond. Also, I know it shouldn't be run through the filter system, so I plan on shutting down the pond when I dose. If I put in an airstone during this time, will that be enough air for the fish? My pond is approximately 400 gallons with 10 goldfish. Thanks in advance for any help!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Mix a measured quantity in a bucket of warm water then aeriate for 30 minutes to ensure the total solubility of the powder, then you can disperse evenly around the pond
Dont use it below 50f-10.c.
PP is a powerful oxidizer so add extra airstones around your pond and switch off your U/V-C for 24 hours.
You should also stop feeding your fish during the chemical treament then test all your perameters before you start feeding again.
Potasiu m, will discolour your water to a purple colour, then turn pink before going brown
When it turns brown the treatment has degraded if the water turns brown before the 24 hour period that they say , then you should do a water change of 25%
However it normally only requires one dose but you can repeat 7 and 14 days later if you require.
The maximum dosage use 6.8 grams par 1000 imperial gallons I dont know the US equivulent, so you'll have to work it out yourself but do not exeede maximum dose.
I hope this helps?