Rehabilitating a neglected pond

Reaction score
Just purchased my first house, and it came with a pond in the backyard. The pond has been sitting there with no maintenance for who knows how long. It is full of leaves and sticks and has a bad smell. I want to clean it up but I'm new to all this so I don't know where to start. The pond is approx 5' wide X 5' long X not sure how deep because it is so mucky I can't see the bottom. It looks like it has a cement liner. There is a waterfall at one end of the pond, and the pump is working. I don't think it has a filter, or at least I can't see anything else besides the pump. I figured I will neeed to rent a sump pump and get rid of the old nasty water, clean it, and fill it with new water. After that I feel clueless. I thought getting some advise from someone who is familiar with all this would be good place to start. I will say I have some knowledge of water quality and bio filters ect. from many years of being an aquarium owner; however a pond seems so large I feel a little intimidated. Any advise would be appreciated. Thanks. :razz:

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcomefromgang4.gif
to our group

A sump pump would work great, it will pull the water and muck out. Do you have any fish in there? Once you get it clean take some nice pictures of the set up. Follow the plumbing lines to see if there is a filter somewhere, it might just be a filter waterfall box.

Make sure you wear gloves when in the mucky water, it can harm you if you have a cut.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcome309.gif
Lindsay