40 years waiting finally getting pond. Help!

Reaction score
Hi I'm Wayne and am very excited and also completely outta my depth here. I recently turned 40 and was given a garden pond by my wife. Trouble is I've always wanted to build this garden feature myself but have literally no experience of building.
I am currently in the process of digging the hole (its rectangular and 2 metre X 3.2 metre). I have been doing lots of research and read somewhere that I need a layer of hardcore beneath the pond. I cant find the article since. My question is this (probably the first of many). Do I need a layer of hardcore under pond? Would there not need to be a couple of inch dirt on top to prevent damage to liner? I am beginning to think I may of dreamt this as I cant find the article.
By the way top (raised area) will be made of stone not wood.
Any tips to a complete novice will be very appreciated. Really enjoying the journey so far (planning more than digging!) and looking forward to joining the pond community.
Wayne

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Wayne welcome from sunny Plymouth your only up the A38 from us lol.
What exactly do you aim to be keeping in your pond ?
If its koi you may as well get it done correctly first time around you'll need for koi a pond of 4ft-5ft in depth if you can lay sand under your pond not hardcore, even better if you can get old carpet and lay that,.
What size filter do you wish to add again with koi you'll need something with some umpf in it , you'll also need a U/V-C a good pump to move your water around and a large koi style airpump we use airtec 40e's on ours.
Even with goldfish you'll need some depth to it 4ft.
You could meet each way and have some fish some koi thats all down to you .
But before starting a build plan out exactly what you want to do once thats done work towards seeing your dtream pond

rgrds

Dave

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States