Funding GardenPondForums.com

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
I've been running GPF for almost 10 years now and I'm so proud at what a friendly, helpful community this forum has become :). In that time, we've had a little bit of advertising for guest readers (i.e. members that aren't logged in), but no advertising for members when they're logged in to the site. Some years, this has paid enough to cover the costs of running the site (hosting, software licenses, etc...), but as time has gone on I've subsidised the site because I wanted to focus on the community and keep it advertising free for members.

As some of you may know, I've just gone through a divorce - so this combined with covid19 has meant that I'm not able to financially support the site to the extent that I did before. I've been thinking on how I can make it more sustainable, and I've come up with a couple of options that will ease the pressure. I wanted to run them past the community here and see what you think of the ideas. I just want to clarify that the site isn't going to be going anywhere, we'll all be here for a long time to come :D .