Green pond please help.

Reaction score
Country
South Africa
Hi guys I'm new to the pond hobby. I recently bought a property that had a pond with it. The pump they originally had was sort of a pool pump and I've been having high electricity bills. I went and bought a yt 45000 boyu filter and added some ceramic noodles as well as a uv light. The pond hadnt been running till I moved into the place. I also added pond clear on Monday but not much seems to be happening
There is no thick algae at the bottom of the pond it's just the colour of the water that is green. I don't want to add Barley straw. Any other suggestions as to what I can do so I can see how many fish are in the pond and what I can do to get the water clear.

I worked out that the pond is about 17000 liters.
IMG_20181011_105145.jpg
IMG_20181011_105650.jpg
IMG_20181011_084426.jpg

Reaction score
I've had good luck clearing green water by using montmorillonite clay. I apply a double dose every three or for days and it is quite effective for me. Montmorillonite clay is an all natural substance that adds minerals to the water as well as covering the algae and smothering it. The fish love it and you really can't overdose it. Give it a try.

Reaction score
Country
South Africa
Awesome where can I get some and how long should it take to clear my pond

Reaction score
Awesome where can I get some and how long should it take to clear my pond
It's available at most mail order pond supply sites. The brand I use is MicrobeLift. I can't say how long it will take to clear your pond or if it even will. All I'm saying is I've had good results using it and I put it in my pond once a week or so. Every pond situation is different so I there are no guarantees ever.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome @Jarryd !