Hello All!

Reaction score
I am quite new to pond life! I have a small garden and built a small pond 250 litres and water fall about 2 years ago. I stocked it with a few plants and all was good.....

..... Until I got a little brave and added some fish, only a few small goldfish and shubunkins. I currently have about 6 that are about 3-4 inches in length and they appear to have has some babies which is great!

However since I added the fish I have had huge trouble with silt, I had quite a lot of blanket weed so have been using a weed buster and something to break it down but now my pond filter is terrible. I drained down the whole pond and cleaned very thing and put new u.v. Light and supra but 2 weeks later it's totally clogged again. The pond water itself is quite clear.

Please could someone advise on what to do?

All feedback very greatly appreciated ;o)

Ruthie

Reaction score
Hi Ruth welcome to the forum.
Im not sure i can help with your problems but i can tell you about my similar experience.

I have also had a problem this year with blanket weed.For the 5 years i have had my pond this is the 1st time i have had trouble with algae of any kind.
I could be wrong but i think the reason is because i cleaned my filter system last autumn very thoroughly.I also drained my pond totally and cleaned it then filled it with nice fresh clean water.I usually only give everything a quick rinse but this time i had cleaned everything so it was like brand new inc the media filter.This i think was where i went wrong.The filter system will have bacterias that have built up over time that are actualy beneficial to keeping a natural balance to the water in the pond.
This year in late spring/early summer my filters blocked up with blanket weed a few times so i had to clean the weed out of the filters and also scoop out as much algae/blanket weed as i could out of the pond.After a few times of doing this and a month or so later the weed had totally gone.