Just how strong is a milk crate?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Video shot this morning. Probably should have done it a few months ago before I bought 400 of them. Pasted from YT description:

The answer is: Probably strong enough for anything you can imagine putting on it. I'm no engineer, but my redneck math tells me these things are shockingly sturdy.

I'm building a cistern for a man-made pond and the design required me to find a way to store about 3000 gallons of water underground.

The "go to the store and buy it" solution to this problem in the pond world is a product called a water matrix block, also known as an aquablock or soakaway crate.

But those are REALLY EXPENSIVE! As I write this, they're more than $2/gallon of storage. I looked into all kinds of other possible solutions like plastic pallets, culvert pipes, industrial storage totes, rainwater tanks, and other oddball products I could re-purpose.

But the solution I kept coming back to was milk crates. They're cheap, relatively easy to come by, and—as I just learned—STRONG AS HELL!

I bought 400 of them from a pig farmer (yep, really!) and this is a video of me punishing them to see what they can take.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Thanks. I wish there was a prize at the county fair for best boulder—I have a few good ones!

I’ve read the same for aquablox—5500 lbs/sf. Don’t know how they tested, though.

Farmplast—who sells bulk milk crates to the public—has an engineering report on their site with pictures. Their testing showed about 2,500 lbs/sf before the crates became visibly stressed. It's pretty remarkable for some cheap, flimsy plastic. And if you backfill against it, it will only get stronger.