Koi in BAD shape - Help

Reaction score
Greetings All,

I am new to the hobby and forum. Hoping someone might be able to diagnose what might be going on with one of my little guys.

I will try and give as much info as a I can.

The pond is around 2,200 gallons and pretty established, however did not have any fish for quite some time. I did a total drain and clean out, new filter, plumbing, plants, and added bacteria to kick start bio filter and ran for 30 days with no fish, but frogs that came naturally.

I added 5 small Koi around 5 -6" about 10 days ago. Then have been hidding most of the time and not eating, but we had a cold snap the last week - so I was not overly concerned. I would catch a glimpse of them every other day or jetting around the pond. Then......

I see one of my little guys in really bad shape this morning. He is missing half his tail and looks like something got to him.... My first thought was the other fish were beating him up. I have run aquariums for years and have seen this many many times. But...then I got to thinking whether it could be tail rot, or blot - or combination.

He is isolated from the rest of the guys who are still hiding, he is hovering at the bottom in the open, bloated belly, and looks like he has a "wound" on his tail.

Posted several Pics and would appreciate any advice on whether you think this is an illness, critter, or other fish inflicted damage...? I figured if it was a Heron the bird would have gotten him, but he might have gotten away??

Anyway - thanks in advance! Koi 1.JPGKoi 2.JPG

Reaction score
Oh - by the way to add to my previous post. Water tested good prior to adding the Koi (Koi dealer tested my water), tested yesterday and tested good as well. PH is roughly 7.0 - 7.5, Nitrate = 0, Nitrate Slighty above 0 but less then 20ppm, hard to tell because the test strips are not that precise.

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States