Livebearing fish that can go in my pond UK

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have some koi and goldfish in my pond but to complete the look I want to have a bunch of tiny livebearers that will populate quick and look nice
Something like guppies or mollies. I do have a heater duting winter for my musk turtle but that's about it. Also I was wondering if about large floating plants, anything that will survive winter

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
UK Birmingham The pond is 1000litres 2 canister filters, bunch of plants, koi goldfish, above pond tank, summer temps outside got to 37 this year and winter temps rarely drop below -5 haven't seen snow in about 5 years and have a heater in the winter. Current pond temp is about 15degrees and winter is about 10

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I'm no fish expert, but I don't think mollies or guppies will work in your winter temps. Minnows maybe?

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Unless I’m wrong, 1000L is equivalent to just under 300 gallons. Did you mean to add another zero in there? If your pond is that small, I really don’t think you need to be adding ANY other fish, not even small ones. I’m surprised that you have both koi and goldfish in your pond. Adding any more fish is going to severely impact your water quality.

Reaction score
Country
United States
They are not live bearers, but you might check out Rosy Red minnows.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
@Tophatshark - @Mmathis caught an important detail that I missed there. Your pond is too small for koi. I would stick to goldfish, comets, shubunkins, etc. Rosy reds if you want a small schooling fish. You have the perfect size for a goldfish pond.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom