mallard duck

Reaction score
My husband brought home two baby mallard ducks to our pond this year. One died the first night we had them. The other stayed around for a long while. We finally had to find it a bigger pond with other ducks, because she kept flying onto our neighbors roof. I was afraid she would land in the road one day. It was an interesting expierence raising a duck but i would not do it again. Only because i was afraid that come winter she wouldn't fly away.

Reaction score
I might be mistaken here, but I don't think ducks or any migrating birds will fly away without a parent to teach them this idea. My understanding is that the migration urge and route are taught not inherited.

Reaction score
I don't know, if ducks always fly south for the winter I wonder if she wouldn't have tried to find other ducks to fly with. Maybe if she was used to being fed she could have been given to a wild life preserve. Personally, I have no experience with ducks except at the park in town.

Reaction score
Awww.... you'd have to take the duck inside and keep it warm :) I remember watching a show about orphaned geese who had to be taught to fly by their human 'mother.' Probably the same with ducks.

Reaction score
Thanks everyone for the comments. As for the duck being taught to fly, she had already learned to do that by the time we took her to the other pond. Should state that the pond we took her to was a big one that had other ducks in it. As for learning how to fend for herself when it comes to eating. When we had her we did feed her, but you would not believe all the other things that she ate on her own. From plant life to bugs. Where we took her she should have no problem with finding things to eat.
You all have a great day.

Reaction score
Having a duck would be great but wouldn't they also bring illnesses to the pond?

Reaction score