New Florida Pond Questions

Reaction score
Total newbie here, so be patient please.

Design Decisions:
I am going to build a "formal" pond (rectangular) surrounded by a patio area. Planning on about 6' X 9' X 3.3' (40" = 5 cinder blocks high), a couple plant shelfs on ends that are 24" deep, approx 1000 gallons. Cinder block walls with a 45 mil EDPM liner. I plan on having the whole patio slightly raised to keep water running away from the pond. I plan to build a sitting wall around the pond approx 18" high, so no one accidentally goes for a swim. The water level will be at the patio (ground) level, so this isn't really a raised pond, just a pond surrounded by a short block wall. I know that I have Racoons in the yard, I seem them all the time. I am hoping that the 18" wall, and straight pond walls will keep them out of the pond. I will also put some solar landscape lighting around as a deterrent. Probably a submersible Laguna pump and a DIY filter.

QUESTIONS: Do you think some stupid racoon will fall into the pond and then shred up my liner trying to get back up a straight wall?

Any issues you see right off with this plan?

Florida questions:
Am I safe with a pump that turns the water over once per hour in the Florida sunshine (1000 gph pump on 1000 gal pond)? Since I do not have to worry about freezing this will be running 24-7-365.
This will be a multi weekend project finishing up by around Thanksgiving.
When do I put in plants? Will they die off over the winter in Central Florida? We get a few nights a year that go below freezing, but not for long enough to form Ice on anything. Do I wait till spring? When should I add Fish?

Thanks for any input.
Craig

rdk

Reaction score
I had a big time raccoon problem. I also have a rectangular pond. I put in a heavy fence cover over my pond. No more raccoon problem. RDK

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States