New pond lots of questions

Reaction score
I have some knowledge about ponds my father in law use to have one.
The problem i am having is information overload!
First question i do have is my local pond guy said i should let my new pond turn green before using my uv light he said this will set up the good bacteria
any ideas?
thank you

Reaction score
the pond is about 1000 gall and i live near the shore in new jersey
do you run the uv light every day even after the pond has cleared up

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
green is algae and no one likes algae and do not understand that except for the fact that the good bacteria need time to colonize and maybe he is telling you that because he does not want the uv to interfere with the good stuff .But then again when you get algae growing it is one of the hardest things to get rid of .I left my pond empty for close to 2 months to get the good bacteria growing but I never let it go green .

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I have never had a uv and my pond is in full sun most of the day and I live in the south and I was from Edison NJ and had a pond there but no fish but no green water either .I just had plants and a large concrete fountain in the middle .Thats why I did not have fish less to tend too since I worked so much .Now retired and I have little bit bigger pond with koi and goldies but never want green water

Reaction score
if i do let it get green then i use the uv light to clean it up should i run the uv light after it is clear my pond is in full sun do i run the uv 24/7

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score