Regular dirt garden plants that are can be put into pond ?

crsublette

coyotes call me Charles
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Sounds like this is common practice.

Pecan mentioned this in another thread and it just amazes me. I guess this would be the equivalent to putting these plants into a hydroponic garden.

Do these plants still oxygenate the water and take up Nitrates like the aquatic classified plants ??

I have just about 3~4" of water above my flagstone table in the center of my pond. Would these type of plants grow well in this just in their containers ?? Could Mint be grown in these conditions??

Sorry, I am not good with plants at all, lol. My routine is asking the lady in the greenhouse to bundle something pretty for me.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I have mint, in the ground, in the bog, in the pond as a floater. Yes mint does fine. It does need to be controlled......likes to take off, but I love the smell if it starts to spread too much I yank it.

If you put plants in pots in your pond, use a clay type soil, not garden soil out of bags, it will make a mess. I use kitty litter clay it works well. On top of your table you would end up with a mini bog type set up, shallow pots with water flow.

On your table you could try a lot of different plants, go to the nursery, find a plant you like and give it a try. The blue forgetmenot, grows great and blooms all summer. Day lilies, stella de oro, happy returns are growing great in my bog, including the large maryland "wild" day lilies, in fact they are growing so well I need to purge some, out to the yard they are going.

HARO

Pondcrastinator
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada