1st pond

Reaction score
Hello I am brand new to this hobby. I have always wanted a pond and I am in the process of putting one in. It will be 9x19 when done. I am going to stage the depth of the pool startinag at about 12" then an 18-24" and the deep end will be about 24-36". plan on doing some type of a waterfall feature. I was expecting to dig a hole, throw in a liner, fill with water and be done. After a little research I am finding that there is alot more to it. I look forward to the experience.

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
welcome aboard!:regular_waving_emot In your area, I highly recommend going DEEPER! start at 2'-36" at the shallow end, 48"-72" at the deep end, Your not going to get much use out of a 12" deep end most pots for plants will be at least that. Deeper is more stable, 2' is about as deep as a Heron will stand in the water to fish, so if you go deeper than that you'll at least keep the king of predators out from INSIDE the pond. (doesn't stop them from fishing from the bank) The deep end needs to be 36" or deeper just to allow your fish to make it through winter, 4' is better 5' is even better. Cooler in the summer, warmer in the winter and with this size pond, You don't limit yourself to what kind of fish you decide to use, They can all live in a pond this deep and this big. If you go 36" at the deep end, your limiting yourself pretty much out of any good koi pond unless you plan on bringing them in for the winter. Price difference, a little more work load effort, quite a bit more, BUT WORTH IT!:lol::surfing:

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi charleyd, Welcome to the forum! We have had a lot of people join lately from WI. I agree about depth. It should be at least 4.5 ft deep at some place so the fish can stay warm in the winter. Be sure to read about how to cycle a pond before you throw your fish in!

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score