A couple of concerns regarding my pond ...

Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been enjoying my koi pond since I purchased my house. I do have a couple of questions/concerns regarding maintenance.

How often do you guys clean the filters? I have a canister with three black foam filters that I need to clean about two-three times a week. These filters get clogged with algae really fast. If I don't clean them often, the water will overflow. I've been using algaefix for a couple of months now to control the algae. I'm doing the once a week dosage with the algaefix. I'm concerned that this excessive cleaning is killing my beneficial bacteria.

Another concern that I have is that every time I clean the bottom of the filter canister, there are fine metal particles that look like gold flakes. I don't have any issues with my fish and I always using water conditioners when making water changes. I'm assuming that these particles probably come from my house plumbing system.

Should I be concerned?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
G

Reaction score
I think most people here use DIY barrel filters, which require pretty much no cleaning. See the DIY section for some inspiration if you feel like building one.

The real solution however, regardless of filter, lies in getting rid of algae food, mostly nitrate. The easiest solution for that, is more plants. Floating plants are great for this, lettuce, hyacinths and the like.