Brand new: need help planning

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi folks,

I’m brand new to the world of ponds and fish. I’ve been doing tons of research over the last couple weeks, and I have a bit of a grasp on the idea now, but I’ll admit I still have quite a few questions. Fortunately, I don’t yet have fish depending on me to have answers. ;)

I have a 7-acre farm in Northwest Washington, and my husband has decided he definitely wants us to add a pond. We have the space and plenty of time to devote to it. The kids are big enough now to understand not to go near the water alone. The timing is about right now. We won’t actually start the building until around March/April, and don’t plan on fish until September/October, tentatively. The goal is a 10’x10’ pond, 5’ deep, tapering to 3’ on the end. We want to keep an assortment of largemouth bass, Bluefin, and Black Crappie (and a few chanel catfish, maybe.). This factors out to be roughly 3,800 gallons.

My questions:

Perhaps the “stupidest” question, but something not actually discussed on any of the websites I’ve found: I dig out the hole in the shape of the pond, I put down the liner. Then do I put dirt or something on top of the liner (inside the pond)? Or rocks? Or do I just fill it with the water? Or…?

I understand aeration and filtering are two of the biggest things with fish to keep the water appropriately safe for them. I’ve found pumps appropriate for the size of the pond, I’ve found aerators and waterfalls. How, exactly, do we do filtering? Is there a pond-size version of the filter you put on a fish tank? Or…?

Is a UV filter necessary? What exactly is the point of it?

Everyone here is talking about plants in the pond, how does that work with the liner? Are we deliberately planting water fish on top of the liner? Is there a risk of roots damaging the liner?