Checkin in from Central TX...

Reaction score
Hey guys just joined the forum and wanted to leave a hello in the intro section. I'm new to ponds and right now I'm just in the digging phase but ill keep everyone updated and post some pics when I take them. I have a ton of questions but I'm going to do a lot of searching on here before I just go asking questions that have already been answered on here 20 different times. Ok so a lil about my plans. I think I'm looking at somewhere close to 3000 gallons, oval shaped 12ft x 8ft x 4ft deep. At one end I plan to do a small shelf at about 2ft deep for a few plants and at the other end will be a pretty good size waterfall/filter built out of flagstone. I do plan on having fish but not 100% sure which kind right now. I do love koi but I think since I'm new to this ill probably go with something easier to maintain like some sort of nice looking goldfish. I'll be posting plenty of questions on here I'm sure but I also welcome any input you guys have for me. Thanks!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome ken and you want to make sure since you are in Texas that you go deep enough to keep fish cool in summer and do you have predators as you may want to not include plant shelves as that gives them steps to get in your pond .

Reaction score
That is a good point that I've been going back and forth with because we do have frequent wildlife like raccoons, and even neighborhood cats when they are brave enough to chance getting caught by my dog. I also considered leaving the water plants out and just doing a nice flower bed bordering the back side of the pond. That way I can incorperate the plants but not have shelves going into the pond. Would 4 ft not be deep enough for fish even if it won't be in direct sun all day?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):