First pond , a few questions.

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hello everyone new to the forum, I have been keeping fish in aquariums for well over 10 years. I decided it's time for a outdoor pond, my pond will be roughly 650 gallons and planing on housing a few goldfish. My pond will be 4 feet deep (I live in Canada) , 7 feet long and 3 feet wide. I've been doing alot of research I know that I need a pump, filter, hoses, spillway , Pond liner , underlayment and also a large airstone and air pump...Im I forgeting anything?

I had a few questions sorry if it's repetitive.

-If my pond is 650gal how many GPH should my pump be considering it'll be connected to my filter and waterfall spillway (12")? I was thinking atleast 2000Gph?

- I've noticed that pond underlayment is quite expensive anything else I could use instead?

-Use river rocks to cover bottom of pond?

-Any tip or advice?

I also decided on not putting a skimmer just because I don't mind putting in work to maintain the top of my pond.

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Welcome @JesseMoreira06 , I don't have an in-ground pond but I'll do my best to answer based on my knowledge and from what I've read.

1. If pond ends up being 650 gallons you should shoot for 1000-1300 gallons per hour based on usual recommendation of circulating the water volume 1.5 to 2 times per hour. More wouldn't hurt unless it's too much flow for filters, waterfalls, etc. You could always accomplish your circulation goals with multiple pumps depending on what your system is going to look like.
2. I have never used pond underlayment myself and I can't speak about the cost of it but you might look into old scraps of carpet or carpet pad, I've heard other members mention using it as an alternative.