First Pond In Small Garden

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello All,

Newbie here, looking to construct a small pond in my garden. We don't have a huge garden and it is a really awkward shape. Also a lot of slopes going on! As part of a wider refesh of the garden I'd like to extend an existing raised bed by adding a new section in which I can build a small pond. I've shown on the below photo where it will fit. I will build from the same sleepers and hopefully it will look like it was there along.

The space within the timbers will be approx 4ft x 2ft and I'll dig down to give a depth of 2ft, with shelves on 3 sides for marginal plants. Thinking that using a liner is best and I will add some decking boards to cap the sleepers and hold the sheet in place. I wasn't planning on having any fish in the pond, for now at least. Instead I'd fill the shelves with marginals and maybe some lily's to cover up to half of the open water. We seem to get a fair few frogs and other little critters so I expect we will have some potential inhabitants.

Few questions I have so far;
- Is it worth spending extra for EPDM liners? I've seen some HDPE liners including 'heavy duty' underlay that are around half the price of an EPDM liner alone.
- The side of the sleeper frame will be about 6-8" above the ground at it's lowest point. Is that low enough for frogs to get up and over or should I add some sort of step to help them? I will try and place some rocks in the water to help getting out.
- I don't have any outdoor power points and was not planning to add a filter or pump. Will this be ok given the small size and lack of fish? I might try a solar pump to move the water about during the summer months.

Thanks in advance!

Dave

6F09C6BA-292E-438A-AD47-6A70E7C541BA_1_201_a.jpeg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States