Hi from the UK

Reaction score
Hi, I am a relative newbie when it comes to domestic pond construction, but I have kept and bred tropical fish in the past (mainly Discus, but also rarer Corydoras catfish and other Cichlids). Always wanted my own pond and to construct one, and on moving into this property 12 months ago, a brick raised pond with a pre-formed "liner" was inherited from the landlord. This pond was in need of some TLC which I gave it and now the fish are flourishing as well as the plants in there (it is only a small pond).

Last weekend, I started our new pond by digging it out by hand (approximately 12 cubic metres of soil removed!) and fitting the liner, and came to a standstill (see my post in the other forum regarding pond construction). This new pond will be home to the 2 Koi that are in the old pond currently along with 7 Mirror Carp (although a carp breeder friend of mine has offered me more fish free of charge when I want them!).

I am savvy when it comes to water quality, nutrition, growth, etc as I am an angler myself and research a lot in to Cyprinid behaviour and nutrition through my angling. I have managed several angling lakes in the past successfully, so hoping that the new domestic pond will be a success when I have finished (if you are ever finished with a pond!!!).

Hope to make some friends here and also try to help where I can as well as receive any help I may require.

Hope to speak to you soon.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome and I knew nothing when I started almost 10 years ago but so far been lucky I have not lost one fish so if I can do it any one can :cheerful:

slakker

AKA Mike
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Hi there... I'm new to ponds, just build mine this year. I notice ponds are almost common place in the uk! Is this true?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom