Hi from the UK!

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
Not sure if I should be posting in a forum from the US as I am in the UK and am a total newbie when it comes to owning a pond.

We inherited a small pond (plastic liner) when we bought our house 3 years ago. We've debated for a long time about whether or not to keep it or get rid of it (husband is not a fan of frogs!) but I've grown to like it and am used to seeing the tadpoles and frogs now.

We've never touched it aside from skimming the top now and then, It started getting algae in it about a year ago and the lily that was in there grew totally out of control. Recently we removed the horrible old paving around the edges and my husband has just taken the brave step of emptying it out for the first time and it's a decent size and quite deep for a small pond.

Unfortunately it was a rought attempt to get it cleaned so all the wildlife went with it :(

So we're starting over from scratch now... and haven't a clue what we should be doing! I am guessing we need plants for oxygen. We do not want fish but are happy for the frogs to use it and the other small wildlife that comes with that.

I've tried to attach a photo (hopefully it's worked) and it's now totally empty and has no surround to it.

Jeffina.x

Attachments

• IMG_3304.JPG
    IMG_3304.JPG
    115.2 KB · Views: 215

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcomefromgang4.gif
Glad you joined!

There are people from all over on this forum. A lot from the uk

We will all be glad to try and help you.

Without having fish, you can refill it put some plants in and the critters will come back.
To keep the water fresher, you could do partial water changes off and on and add a nice little aerator, small fountain if you want to

Reaction score
Thank you both for the nice welcome! :D