Inherited a Large Koi/Goldfish Pond

Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings all,

My Wife and I just closed on our first home, and it has a rather large Koi pond in the back yard. Pond is about 20 ft long x 8 feet wide and currently is about 3.5 ft deep, but has room for more water. lots of plant growth around the edges and even in the water (lilies). there are between 60-70 fish and one turtle.

pond has two sump well water falls at either end.

i am completely new to pond owner ship but i am trying to hit the ground running. i have already had to make repairs to the system because of broken pipes. next step is to replace the UV clarifer because the old one died. (i was just going to get a new bulb but the plastic housing has started to break down.)

Any way, i look forward to learning from everyone.

Thanks,

David

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome .I may be a dummy but what is a sump pump well water fall .Are they using sump pumps because they are not made to run 24/7 .OIr are they using sump pump vaults .I bought my u.v.s off of ebay at topdog seller less than 35 dollars for an 18 watt and it came with an extra bulb and also bought extra bulbs from cll pets 2 for less than 6 dollars ,free shipping also

Reaction score
Country
United States
20151011_100955_Bentwood Dr.jpg
20151011_100855_Bentwood Dr.jpg
20151011_100902_Bentwood Dr.jpg
20151011_101014_Bentwood Dr.jpg
20151018_124614_Bentwood Dr.jpg

Reaction score
Country
United States
Ok sorry for the delay, but above are some pictures of our Pond. I also included a picture of one of the pumps, because i climbed in the other day to pull it up and look at it.