Little giant external pump help....newbie!

Reaction score
hello people!!

i have always been in love with fish and finally had the space to build a small pond. Its about 10x6 feet and about 4 feet deep ( going down into a V shape, not straight down) can someone estimate how much gallon i have?

my next concern is i have a little giant pump similar to http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produ...1csegpl&ref=6111&subref=AA&CAWELAID=525421420 and this pump is to strong for my pond. can i adjust it someone?

Thanks in advance. i am still learning as i go along.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi There are a lot of pond volume calculators on the internet but you will have to try to estimate what the average depth is of your pond. Here is one that looks pretty good because it also lets you put in the shape as well. http://www.pondcare....tor/index.aspx. It's tricky to figure out your average depth. It's definitely not 2 ft.
I did a quick math calculation to determine what a cone shape would hold and if the average radius of your cone is 3.5 ft then it holds about 58 cubic feet or 433 gallons. I worked backwards and used the following calculation and inserted your pond volume of 433 gallons and solved it for average depth. It came out to 1.35 ft. Note my math is not perfect because I estimated your cone was round and average width of 7 ft. Maybe someone who is good at math can calculate it more precisely.
Oval Pond ------- Length x Width x Depth x 6.7 = Water Volume
So my guess is 400-450 gallons. if you have rocks in it then it will hold less water. My pond is similar size and I stick to goldfish. Your pond can probably hold up to a max of 10-12 goldfish between 2-4" using a rule of thumb of 1" of fish per 10 gallons.You don't want to overcrowd them because they need some room to grow. Be sure to read how to cycle a pond before adding fish. I hope this helps.

Reaction score
hello people!!