Minnesota pond

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm so glad I found this forum because I am very new to pond upkeep and I am very keen to learn as much as I can about how to keep my pond healthy and my 12 goldfish happy! :)

I recently moved into a house with a pond in June 2013 and there were no fish in the pond at the time. The water was drained out and only a few inches of stale water remained from the previous owner. A neighbor man helped me get the remaining water removed and got the pump running and after a few false pump starts (with a screwdriver) the water came over the top of the waterfall and it was beautiful!

I started adding beneficial bacteria and activated carbon to get the water clear. Then, through an unexpected opportunity, some people my family knew wanted to unload some goldfish from their overpopulated pond. So I got 12 small to medium size goldfish for free! I added them all at once (which now I realize probably wasn't the best idea) but they are flourishing and happy!

Now onto my question - I have gone around and around in my mind about what to do in the winter. I live in Minnesota, Zone 4 and it gets very, very cold here. At first, I was going to put them into a 150 gallon aquarium in my basement. Then, after talking with friends, decided I would put them in a stock tank in my garage. THEN, I decided it would be too cold and wanted to bring them back inside again. NOW, after reading some posts on the forums, I wonder if it would just be best to leave them in the pond, since they are doing great and I don't want to cause them any undue stress. I love my fish and I don't want them to stress out or die!

I know I would need to get a de-icer and pump to keep a hole in the water so that oxygen and nitrogen flow will be optimal. But I just don't know what I should do so that they are best taken care of. People are saying that this could be a bad winter, with lots of snow and cold temperatures.