New DIY filter design help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I’m new to ponds, we currently bought my fiancée’s grandparents house when theypassed in which they had a pond in their garden. I apologise in advance for the long post.

Pond Overview:

The pond is kidney shaped and holds approx. 3500 litres which has been dug in (so the top of the pond is at ground level). It is currently supplied by a submerged 5500lph pump (this has just been replaced), going into a UV and finally into a very old Biotec filter (which doesn’t really work) and back out the the pond. The UV and filter are just above the top of the pond (ground level). It currently has 10 fish. 6 small goldfish (4-6inches) and 4 larger fish approx 10-12inches ( I want to say these are koi but looking at how bad shape the pond quality is in I doubt they are as they are still alive and seem quite happy). I think this is a too high volume of fish for the size of the pond.

Unfortunately, the pond hasn’t been looked after, I don’t think there has been any proper water changes and a full clean (no bottom drain installed) for at least 3 years.

Plan:

I’m looking to get the pond fully cleaned, drained and refilled etc. At this time I’ve been looking at DIY filters due to having the majority of the stuff around and no money for a proper one. I’m not looking for this to be amazing but hopefully a definite improvement on the fishes current situation (and hopefully build on this once i get more knowledge).

I have done a basic filter layout but please let me know if this could be better optimised and anything I’ve missed or could help. I do have some questions and know some (if not all) of the design will need changing.

Design:

Sorry if the terminology isn’t correct, I will add question marks on anything I’m unsure on. Here are the design pics:

A59FA135-CF64-4939-8CC9-DDF9C8A13D58.jpeg

C2C9C7B9-EA15-4CE8-8AE2-4C5C22ECA536.jpeg