New house, new pond!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Hi everyone! My husband and I just purchased a home in clear lake, Texas. And it came with a gorgeous pond! We are complete newbies, and are trying to learn as much as we can to keep this thing looking pretty! We moved in and our pump was dead, so we replaced it to get the waterfall going again. The pump was off for two days. We will be buying test strips soon to check the ph, and nitrates. We have 5 koi, and a ton of tiny fish (not sure what they are. Maybe tadpoles?) and water lilies. We contacted a pond servicing company here locally, and he told us that we needed the entire thing drained, and cleaned. Also that the lillies have taken over the pond. (He made this deduction from the photos posted.) any advice for a newbie?

Attachments

• DEDFB9A7-59A1-4CB6-AA47-48311E7E1623.jpg
    DEDFB9A7-59A1-4CB6-AA47-48311E7E1623.jpg
    482.2 KB · Views: 233
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
The test strips are not as accurate as the tube tests, I would get the tubes. Don't listen to that guy!!
Test your water and see where you're at. Is there a bunch of stuff in the bottom (dead leaves and gunk)?

We will get those today, then! We haven't been to the bottom of it, so I can't say with certainty. I can try to take some good photos a bit later, it doesn't look too bad. The water has gotten a bit more murky since we moved in, though.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Ooops, if there is, get a net and start netting out the gunk. You need to test for PH, nitrate, nitrite, and phosphate, and ammonia.
It is a lovely pond and welcome to the forum!
Thank you! I'll keep this updated, and thanks for the quick reply! I'm hoping we become well versed in ponds soon.

tbendl

T
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
That's ok, fish love the murky, it's us land creatures that want the water clear so we can see our fish. Lol