11,000 gal. pond put in last summer

Reaction score
Country
United States
Other than a few weeks during the winter by pond stays green. I already have a lot of string algae. My pond does not get much shade. I am questioning if I should use an algaecide. I only have 12 Koi that are about 8 inch so I also wonder if more fish would help to create a better balance. Thanks for any help. I am new to this and would appreciate the input.

Smaug

God makes perfect. I just dug the hole
Reaction score
Country
United States
If the water itself is green then a uv clarifier of the proper size is the best answer. If it's string or mat algae then a uv light won't help and your only solutions are more shade,more plants and better filtration. Some say that's the only good solution for green water algae but a uv clarifier is the simplest and most sure fire. Only 12 8 inch fish in an 11 thousand gallon pond is certainly NOT your problem. That's not remotely overstocked even if they were full grown,not for water volume alone anyway. How big is your pump and what filtration do you have?

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Filtration, or lack of, is not even close to being your problem. An 11,000 gallon pond that houses only 12 8" Koi has more than sufficient surface area to process the total daily Ammonia produced without any supplemental filtration. The fact that you have algae attests to the fact that you have Nitrate which is only produced by bio-conversion (bio-filtration).
My guess is that the culprit here is one of the usual suspects.....overfeeding. Reducing the Nitrate level should be your goal....plants will do this, and keeping the Nitrate level low your secondary goal......a proper feeding regime will accomplish this.

Smaug

God makes perfect. I just dug the hole
Reaction score
Country
United States
. The fact that you have algae attests to the fact that you have Nitrate which is only produced by bio-conversion (bio-filtration).