adding water

Reaction score
hello. i'm a newbie to the forum. i posted in the intro thread. i have a question about water evaporation. it seems to me that i add more water to my pond than my neighbor does to her pond. i have to add almost an inch of water pretty much every day or my pump starts sucking air. my pond is about 8x14 in connecticut. it is near trees, but still gets plenty of sunlight. does that seem like a reasonable rate of evaporation, or do i have a leak?

(please say it's normal and i don't have a leak)

koidaddy

karps house of koi
Reaction score
To check for evaporation fill some sort of container that will float in the pond about half full, maybe you could sit it somewhere in the pond. Mark the water level in the container then wait to see how much evaporates from the container in 24 hours. Not an exact science but it should help. A 30 gallon rubbermaid tub would work good.

Reaction score
So simple, but a brilliant idea!

That said, an inch per day sounds like more than evaporation to me. It would have to be really hot, dry and windy to get such levels I think. But what do I know, I live in a rainforest lol.

koidaddy

karps house of koi
Reaction score
Thanks vertigo72. I will add that here in Florida I could loose a 1/2 inch a day. My pond is in the direct sun most of the day. Also, I have a trickle type filter for my fines so that accounts for some as well.

Reaction score
Thats a good idea koidaddy. I live in florida to and I get about a 1/2" sometimes a little more but my water fall splashes over the side of the fall from time to time I dont mind it it waters my plants on the side of the fall. Also if all you have to do is loose an inch of water and your pump sucks air I would look at that. dont leave you alot of wiggle room especially if you are loosing that everday. What if you go on vacation or something your pump would be toast by the time you got back.

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score