Container Pond Filter Recommendations

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Hello All,

I am an admitted novice, and have only had my pond for about 1 year now. I have a small 50 gallon container pond with live plants and a handful of fish. I had been using an Aquascape Filter/Fountain Pump designed for container ponds/gardens and it seemed to be working well up until recently. I've had lots of algae growing this spring and it seems to clog the filter quite often. Yesterday while feeding the fish I happened to put my hand in the water and received an electric shock (minor), and immediately unplugged the filter which removed the electric current from the water. In hindsight I recalled this happening a few weeks ago and I honestly thought that the cut I had on the finger which touched the water just burned due the the pH of the water (it had been a tad high at the time). I know that sounds stupid in retrospect, but I didn't associate it with a shock because it was such a minor sensation. Yesterday's however was a bit more apparent.

My first thought was, I can't believe my fish haven't been affected by this electrical current running through the water. I have noticed today that they seem more active than I recall them being, so perhaps they were affected after all.

My next thought is that I need to replace this filter/fountain sooner than later and I wanted to ask for suggestions as to what filters you all might recommend. Like I said I have a 50 gallon pond currently with fish and live plants.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and advice!!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States