FIRST POND PROJECT

Reaction score
I have been planing my indoor pond for about 6 months now and I'm about 2 weeks away from filling my tank. I started with wanting a 300 gal stock tank and then decided that was not big enough. I then decided I wanted a 1000 gal open top tank until I discovered I could not get it through the door. So I the settled on a 660 gal 38" deep 72" dia open top tank. I will be using a Pondmaster Mag Pump and Fish Mate filter along with an Aquascape Pond Aerator. I have made an octagon frame from 3/4" PVC and covered it with netting to prevent from jumpers, I will also installing T5 grow lighting. All of this and a bunch of plants will go into my 12" shed to make a sort of Zen room. Please post any knowledge that will help. I am in Springfield Illinois but just moved here from San Diego, California so feeling a little like a fish out of the pond.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I hope your shed is bigger than 12 inches... ;)

Welcome to Illinois and sorry about the weather!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Canada
How cold will your shed get during the winter?
What type of fish/plants are you planning on keeping?
Can you post any pictures of your setup?

Reaction score
I would expect the inside temperatures of the shed to be nearly as cold as outside temperatures, even with insulation. Plus flowing water will be a little colder than the inside of the shed. You will probably need to combat ice and figure out how you will keep a hole open in the ice for gas and oxygen exchange.

Reaction score
Desoto, Texas (Dallas County) North Texas, Zone 8a
Showcase(s):