Fry in my pond...

Jac

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
Newbie here....
At the beginning of the year I was left with a few goldfish, a few chubunkin, some ghost koi and a black fish with a lovely long fantail,
that was until a heron decided to fly around my town with my fish hanging from it's beak!!
A couple of weeks later I thought that my pond was full of tadpoles which were in fact fry. There are some orange coloured, some mottled coloured, some greyish with a silver belly and some that are still black plus the fan tailed fish.
My question is, if my previous fish were in a fearful state due to that dreaded heron, would they have spawned as they were going to be taken?
This was around June time UK.

TIA
Jac

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our forum!

Your fish probably just spawned and you are now seeing the fry. They, if scared by a predator, actually go into hiding.
Bummer about losing your pretty fish. I keep my pond wide weave netted year round due to herons. They fly over every day.

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Predation won’t keep fish from spawning, as it is a short lived or acute stressor. Chronic stress is what will keep your fish from spawning like living in a pond with poor water quality. Think of it this way when health is compromised in most animals for a long period of time, reproduction is way down on the list of necessary functions for self preservation.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United States
Predation won’t keep fish from spawning, as it is a short lived or acute stressor. Chronic stress is what will keep your fish from spawning like living in a pond with poor water quality. Think of it this way when health is compromised in most animals for a long period of time, reproduction is way down on the list of necessary functions for self preservation.