Giving up?

Reaction score
I am new to the pond life.I am about to give up!!!!My pond is now just stressing me out.It is 8x10 aprox 3ft deep in the center,with a shallow ridge.I have a tetra gravity discharge filter and a submersible filter the pump is 1000 GPH.My Ph is 7.My fish are miserable.All laying at the bottom or on the shallow ridge in a group.What am I doing wrong.Should I do away with one filter?Oh I have a water fountain.I have bought all sorts of additives..Ph up,Ph down,pond clear and ammono lock.I have had a lot od fish die on me...should I just fill the pond in and give up...

Reaction score
Welcome to GPF. No no, don't give up! There is a reason why this is happening and you just need to find out what it is. Have you tested your water, done water changes..... considered building a DIY filter to improve the water. I'm sure others will chime in that are more experienced than me.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome joan maybe you are trying to hard and putting in to many things .Do you have an oxygen pump or plants .Plants use up oxygen at night and give it off during the day .Try building your own filter I had one of those pressurized things and it has sat in the basement now for over 4 years .I built my own and fish are happy and healthier now

taherrmann4

Tmann
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Welcome! Agree don't give up while it can be stressful now when you get it cycled everything will run smoothly and you will enjoy it greatly.

Reaction score
thank u all so much.