Going to a Liner Pond.........

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Hello to all,
This is my first post having just joined your forum a few minutes ago. I'm almost 70, but hope to complete this new pond early this spring and hopefully have many years left to enjoy it as we have our current pond. I'm sure I'll be looking and asking a lot here as I go forward, but this is my first question. I have had a 270 gal preformed pond for 10 or 12 years now for our Koi. This year I plan on putting in a larger one (1000 gal or so) using a liner. I live in Connecticut (is frost an issue, that just hit me as I was writing this)? Although I've had experience with the preform pond I have (I installed it) this is my first time using a liner type. I plan on using the common underlayment one sees on line, and thought of possibly adding a layer of heavy (10-12 oz) burlap under that. It would all lie in a bed of sand, or finely (1/4") screened fill which I have a lot of here. One of the first questions that come to mind is how likely are roots from a tree or bush to puncture the liner if they were over time able to grow that far? I won't be placing it close to any, but I just wonder if over time it could be an issue. I never had to deal with on my existing pond. I plan on using the popular Firestone liner if that is a consideration. Also along the same lines, how puncture resistant is the liner if a rock were to someday frost heave it self up close the the liner, even with the underlayment? Should I use a double layer of the underlayment? As you can probably see I am a hopeless case of trying to make things as infallible as possible, so I'm sorry if I sound like a PITA, I really am not in general. Thank you for any help or suggestions you may be able to offer.

Bill

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our group!