Harvey's first pond build

Reaction score
Country
United States
Ive been researching about ponds for about 2 years now. I do have a general understanding about what I want to do but I've come to the experts to help with some details and maybe get some better ideas along the way. My plan was to build a smaller pond but after starting a complete renovation on my 16*32 inground pool, I've somehow convinced the girls (wife and 2 daughters) to turn this project into a swimming pond.
Here's the idea.... I'd like raise most of the pool depth to 6 feet with a slightly deeper part to allow for a jumping area for the kids. Bring shelves out from existing hole to create a more natural rounding curve to the pond. My first issue that I have with this is the pump needed to filter this amount of water. I did a rough estimate of about 25,000 gallons. I understand a pump to get the flow needed for this to work will have a decent up front cost. But what should I expect with the jump in my electric bill every month. I don't want this to turn into a money pit to run.
Another thing I'm trying to iron out is what I will do for the bottom. From what I understand gravel and rocks look great but make the pond hard to maintain. But the girls don't like the idea of "slimmy rubber" on their feet. I was thinking of sort of a hybrid situation where I use larger river stone and mortar between the joints sloping everything towards a bottom drain.
Well guess this is my introduction to this form. I want to thank everyone that helps me on my journey creating this dream.

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome! Have you ever heard of a bog filter? You have plenty of room to turn part of your pond area into a nice bog! Check out some other threads on here, especially anything by @addy1 — Addy is our bog-queen!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country