Hello from Middle Georgia!

Reaction score
I've been lurking on this forum for awhile, and finally decided to join :) I'm relatively new to the whole pond thing...as is evident on my first attempt to build a pond. Yikes. In-ground, PVC liner, 8' by 6' and 3' deep. Built all wrong, and everytime it rained, my pond turned into a muddy mess, and the water was chocolate milk. There is something to be said for ensuring your not building a pond at the lowest part of your yard. :grumble: Oh well, live and learn. So, I've removed all the Koi from the pond, placed them in a temporary 200 gallon preform (poor babies) and starting over.

I'm building a raised pond this time. My 4 year old is absolutely fascinated by the Koi, and has almost fallen in a couple times, so that seals the deal for me. I also have a 11month old who is starting to walk, so raised bed it is. My plan is to be 2' above ground, 2' below, and square at 8' by 8'. Oh yeah, and I'm going with a 45mil EPDM liner this time. :razz:

Loving all the ideas and suggestions everyone has...and I'm sure there will be some questions from me!

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
thwelcomewagon.gif
SaraG
You may want to go much bigger unless you are only going to have very few koi as they get huge and need lots of room to swim.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Welcome, SaraG!!!
Agree, go as big as you have room and money for the liner! And, in my opinion, a rounded pond is easier to place the liner than a square one, or at least I think it is. Maybe a square one you can fold the corners easier. Bottom line is to make it as big and deep as you can.