Help please, ammonia 8ppm!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, over the last couple of months I have had a worsening issue with ammonia in my pond (4 7in hardy goldish). I did a 30 percent water change 4 days ago as it was 4ppm, cleaned filter (rinsed it in pond water) and added ammo lock and nitrazorb. Today it was 8ppm! I did a 85 percent water change, added ammo lock, cleaned some sludge as best I could and even after all that it is 4ppm! I understand ammo lock makes it non toxic, but is it enough? Why would I now be getting such high readings, today was a huge shock shock and I am really concerned for my fish. The pond was new and cycled this time last year.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
I'm no expert, but I'd like to follow to see what the experts say.

I'm not sure, but I seem to recall someone saying that when you use certain chemicals to combat ammonia, you'll still get ammonia readings. Something about the ammonia binding to the chemical. I'm not absolutely positive as I said, but I seem to recall something like that.

I'd be interested in the type of test kit you are using. They say the dip strip type is not that accurate. The one with the liquid reagents is the better type.

It probably wouldn't hurt if you posted some details of your setup... how many gallons, what type of filtration, your climate where you live.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks. Using test tubes not strips. You will still get positive readings after ammo lock, however still indicates ammonia is there. And worried it went from 4 to 8ppm in 4 days and huge water change only reduced it back to 4ppm

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10b
Country
Australia
Hi there. Any plants in the pond? What is in the filter? 660l is pretty small for 7inch goldfish. is there any biological filter media in the filter? With the water changes do you use something to neutralize the chlorine and chloramine?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom