Help solve a mystery, please. Pond skimmer not filling all the way up, instead once water reaches a certain height it pools behind skimmer.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi all, I am a newbie and have a pond that was built by a former owner so I don't know the exact size. The pond is about 1,200 to 1,800 gallons based on approximate surface area and average depth. My pond has a skimmer at one end and a waterfall bio filter ("biofalls") that is similar to Aquascape signature series biofalls, except mine has a trapezoid shaped top instead of a semicircle. The skimmer also appears to be an old aquascape type skimmer with an Aquascape water fill valve. The pump is a tsurumi vancs 50pn2.75s pump. I turned the pond on in early May and there was no water pooling behind the skimmer even when the pump was running 24/7, so I don't think the problem is a wrong size pump. The previous owner also used the same pump.

The schematic below illustrates the pond except there is a small approx 50 gallon mini or retention pond at the top that is filled by the waterfall first and then flows down two streams into the main pond. The schematic below doesn't show the minipond that would collect the water from biofalls (2) and then overflows to form the two streams.

1687804122176.png