Help how to waterproof an outdoor water feature.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I am a newbie here and would like a little advice. I'm a disabled electric wheelchair user on low income disability benefit. I bought a low-cost Outdoor Water feature https://teamson.co.uk/collections/water ... tain-pump less than a month ago for my garden. I believe that the Water feature is made of a plastic resin painted to give it a real stone effect. The water feature has already become covered in moss & the paint on the water feature started to come away when I tried to wipe away some of the moss with a soft cloth. After a few weeks of the water feature has been running. The paint has become soft & will come off even with a gentle wipe with a tissue.

I don't want it to end up like this one I found online with all the paint stripping & the plain plastic underneath coming thru because I do really like the original look.

Please don't tell me to just get rid of it & buy real a stone one because though I'd really love to, I simply just can't afford it right now on my limited budget. I have cancer & find it really relaxing to go outside in garden & just listen to the water running & the birds signing while having a nice cup of oolong tea. It helps me forget if just for a few moments all my worries & troubles.

I am being sent a replacement, but I want to attempt to protect the replacement from the paint going soft & stripping away by maybe trying to further waterproof the feature before I start using it. I was thinking of trying this Expoxi resin product I found online https://www.buildingdesignindex.co.uk/e ... rotection/ as hopefully I can just spray it on onto the Water feature myself despite my disabilities. Would this work? does anyone know of any more suitable products that I can use that will fit the purpose?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum!