Hi from Rushden Northamptonshire UK

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 8b
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I am about to start building a pond at the bottom of my garden, to become the home for a collection of Koi that I have been given. (there are 7 KOI from 16-18" and about 100 in varying sizes down to 2 or 3" It is going to be a big project and I have no experience of pond building, though I am ok with DIY. The corner has a deck at present, which I am going to repair and turn into a Gazebo I hope to create something like this:-

The site looks like this at present:-

All help and advice gratefully accepted....

Attachments

• WP_000300.jpg
    WP_000300.jpg
    121.2 KB · Views: 242

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
animated-welcome-jumping-kid-2.gif
to our group!

Make it big and deep with good filtration. You will need that with the number of koi you are mentioning. Ask away, everybody will help you, or at least enjoy watching you work!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 8b
Country
United Kingdom
Thank you addy.

My plan to date is to get a mini digger in and dig 2 ponds, One big one something like the layout of the hose, and then a smaller one, but shallow to create a cascading waterfall. I intend to use the excavation material to create a gentle slope up for the cascade.

I read somewhere that sloping lawns with ponds at the bottom can be bad for Koi and that drainage away from the pond is a good idea.

Wow, I just looked at your pictures! That is some slope you have and a remarkable looking water feature, it makes my slope look very tame!!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
well come and as a koi owner I use 2 filters which I am now making bigger they are really fussy fish and yes a slope can be great for a waterfall but you do have to make sure you have raised sides and an overflow built in where fish cannot get to it .