Hi Newbie Here

Reaction score
Hi, my name is David, I live in Buffalo N.Y. and plan on building a pond. I stumbled on this site yesterday and have been reading a lot of the great info so far.

I would love it if you people could help me with some questions.

First off, as you can see, I'm a bit space challenged, but want to somehow squeeze in a 6 x 12 x 3 foot koi/gold fish pond. I will follow most of the standard pond features required for a koi pond build, such as, straight walls, no rocks on bottom, minimum plants, etc.

One dilemma I've been struggling with is the use of a BD. Most builders I have talked to, based on my pond size, said it is not necessary, just use a vacuum when doing a water change. This would definitely make things easier for me.

I'm going to run a 4000 gpg pondmaster hybrid pump in my skimmer box. With all of the losses calculated, I’m figuring on a pond turnover rate of about 1 per hour, which will equate to about 20 bucks a month in pump run costs. Running a second pump and filter system for the BD is not very appealing to me, but if it needs to be done than I will have to figure out where to hide the extra tank and such.

Another dilemma is for the pond edging to hide my exposed liner. I plan on using the coping method suggested by Savio, that is, digging a 6 inch deep x 8 inch wide cope around the perimeter for placing the rocks. The water level can be brought up to about 2-3 inches from the bottom of the rocks, thus, hiding the liner. Duh, as you experts know all ready.