inheriting a pond

Reaction score
This fall I'm moving into a house that has a pond. Its my fiance's aunt and uncles house and they built a pond a good time ago. The last few years it has been neglected pretty bad BUT there are still fish swimming around and breeding.

We think they are koi fish, not sure about types or if there are any different types. I would like to make the pond a little nicer and care for the fish.

I have no experience with fish besides taking care of a betta kinda lol.

Any information or advice will be appreciated. Oh and heres a pic of the fish. Im going to take better pictures in the morning

IMG_20120131_174126.jpg

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Welcome aboard, Doesn't look to bad from the pic. Are there leaves and trash in the bottom? Filter? Size? Looking at what I can see I think the fish are probably Comets. No way to tell for sure with that pic but judging by size and the clors I think comets, Which if it's a small pond is great! That's probably one of the best fish for that size pond. Koi get really large and require a really good filtration system. comets are far more forgiving and as you can tell will breed in less than ideal conditions.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome corey and hope we can help you get the pond looking nice ,the fish will sure love you for that .Your in a cold state so amazed they have made it through the winters unless it is deep enough .I have a friend who lives in Flatrock Michigan And he put a pond in and ended up taking the fish in and the next year he redug the pond to 6 feet deep and got a pond heater .Can't really see the fish to well .

Reaction score
Yea at the time couldn't get a great pic. The fish are about 5-7" for the biggest in the pond. There are 3 or 4 bigger ones and about 5 babies.