Koi Fish Belly Flops

Jay

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
This summer, my Koi (over 10+ inches long) started jumping up in my backyard pond. I have had the larger ones for over five years and this is the first summer I witnessed this unusual behavior. I researched it, but I couldn't find a reference that seemed to be applicable. Have anyone else experienced this and maybe have an answer? Thank you.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi jay, im no expert but i would check your water parameters as fish jumping can often be signs of stress, there are a lot more informed members on here who will sooon give you all the advice you need. and welcome to the forum !!!!!! cheers mark

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
This summer, my Koi (over 10+ inches long) started jumping up in my backyard pond. I have had the larger ones for over five years and this is the first summer I witnessed this unusual behavior. I researched it, but I couldn't find a reference that seemed to be applicable. Have anyone else experienced this and maybe have an answer? Thank you.

If the water parameters are good and the koi only jumps a few minutes and then go back swimming normal, I wouldn't worry. If they keep jumping they could suffer from parasites.
My koi have done that a few times, right after feeding, but after 2 or three jumps they stopped

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
I have one small fish that does that all the time. It's quite funny. It does what looks like a running start, then breaks the surface of the water. I don't even know what type of fish it is. It's small, maybe 4-5 inches long and white.

Once in a while my bigger fish might jump creating a huge splash. I have some huge ones in there.

If the water parameters are good they might be just catching bugs.

Jay

Reaction score
Showcase(s):